Overflowing with joy, gratitude, and hope… These photos capture just a glimpse of the emotions that swept through our hearts during the 2023 graduation a few weeks ago. We are immensely grateful to our cherished friends and loving families who graced us with their presence.

Congratulations to the Class of 2023 graduates! The diplomas in your hands symbolize the culmination of countless hours of dedication, sacrifice, and faith. Cherish the memories made, the friendships forged, and the knowledge of God gained during your time at RPTS. May the Lord use you to further advance Christ’s crown rights among the nations!

The graduates are Master of Divinity: Keith Dewell, Martin Monteith, Graham Smith, and Jonathan Sturm. Master of Theological Studies: Nathan Bramlet, Karla Byrd, Victoria Mann, Michael Peterson, Sr., Anita Szilagyi, and Paul Tong. Graduate of Theological Studies Diploma: Samuel Goble. Doctor of Ministry: John Edgar, Harry Frielink, Barry Givner, and George Moore.

Dr. William VanDoodewaard delivered the keynote address, which you can view here. Jon Sturm returned the student response, which you can find here.

Dr. William VanDoodewaard

Several awards and scholarships were distributed. They include:

The Bruce C. Stewart Scholarship

Established in the name of former Seminary President Bruce C. Stewart, this scholarship is given to a Middler student. The scholarship recognizes academic excellence, as shown by the cumulative GPA. The scholarship also considers the student’s pastoral gifts as shown in service and relationships within and outside the Seminary community.

  • Awardee: Ray Carroscia (Tony)

The Raymond P. Joseph Award & Scholarship

Established in memory of Raymond P. Joseph (RPTS 1956), this award and scholarship are given to a graduating Senior and a returning Middler, respectively, who demonstrate an understanding and practical application of the Mediatorial Kingship of Christ.

  • Raymond P. Joseph Awardee: Jonathan Sturm
  • Raymond P. Joseph Scholarship: Harley Schwartz (Jake)

The Jerry F. O’Neill President’s Scholarship

This full-tuition scholarship is awarded to up to two recipients who are rising, full-time, on-campus Seniors seeking ordination in the pastoral ministry. The recipients love preaching, evangelism, and discipleship and possess a servant’s heart. Qualifications include academic ability, a written essay, and input from the faculty.

  • Awardee: Kevin Dennis
RPTS President Emeritus, Dr. Jerry O’Neill with Kevin Dennis, recipient of the Jerry F. O’Neill Scholarship

Robert Wodrow Library Award

The Robert Wodrow Library Award is granted each year to two students, one Middler and one graduating Senior. The first award is bestowed upon a Middler who has written the best church history paper among their peers. The second award is presented to the graduate who has utilized the Library and its resources the most during their time at RPTS. This award was established by a generous friend of the Seminary who deeply loves theological books and church history.

  • Best Church History Paper: Brandon Wilcox.
  • Senior who utilized the Library and its resources the most: Jonathan Sturm
Print Friendly, PDF & Email